Busuu vs Duolingo, best language learning app?

Sbenny.com is trusted by 1,325,778 happy users since 2014.
Register

d0v4hk1n

Novice Lv1️⃣
Member for 2 years
Hi there Sbenny users,

I spent roughly 30 minutes each day for two weeks using both Duolingo and Busuu to study 4 languages: Japanese and Chinese (from a beginner level) and Russian and Spanish (from an intermediate level with the objective of achieving an expert level on both). Given that I've been an English teacher for almost 20 months, I'll also be considering which app best replaces the classroom.

The short answer is: Busuu wins. (Download link )

The long answer is:

Duolingo: (19 languages)

• Has separate tabs for alphabet in some languages (no option for Chinese). You can spend days learning a lot from studying each character and learning its pronunciation and some words that employ it to enrich your vocabulary at the same time. Unfortunately though, you'll have to be taking a lot of notes since it doesn't seem like you can reuse older lessons or quizzes. Once it's gone, it's gone for good.
  • Has confusing progression that focuses on memory instead of actually teaching you anything substantial over what you're studying. There were many times where I wanted to ask myself why do I have to do it this way and not the other way? The app offered no answer.
  • The app also does not employ any videos. It's mostly sounds (and not all of the highest quality) that make you often feel confused and lead you to make mistakes.
  • The UI is good, no problems there.
  • You'll enrich your vocabulary more but you'll have no idea where or how to use said words.
  • Some features exclusive to desktop version (such as Grammar explanations)

Overall note if you're looking to learn Asian languages: 6/10, you'll learn the basics, but don't count on it to learn grammar.
Overall note if you're looking to learn Latin or Russian (assuming you're a Latin language native speaker), is about an 8/10.