Hacking Solarmax 3 (Android)

Sbenny.com is trusted by 1,323,999 happy users since 2014.
Register

BigConfusion

Lurker Lv0️⃣
Member for 3 years
I'm new to the Android hacking scene. I used to play around with Cheat Engine and decompiling flash games. My current challenge is hacking Solarmax 3 on Android. What I'm looking to get is unlimited credits (gold, money, whatever you want to call it).

My current process has been a lot of playing around with IDA, dnSpy and HxD. Apologies for the spaghetti of thoughts. I would love if someone could point me in the right direction.

What I want to achieve
: unlimited money

What I've done so far:
  • Dumped all of the APK data using Il2cpp, extracted function names, used scripts to port this data in IDA
  • I'm able to edit the libil2cpp.so file and see changes reflected in the APK when testing
The issue I'm having:
  • It's just not working!
  • I've played around with changing a lot of variables one by one
    • LocalPlayer ChangeMoney() -> playing around with this, and setmoney resulted in no money being added upon completion of levels
    • LocalPlayer SetMoney()
    • NetMessage get_curMoney()
    • NetMessage get_delta
    • UserData get_gold() (address 0x58F048)
    • UserData set_gold()
-----

Changing the UserData get_gold seems relatively straight forward:
Code:
 Int32 get_gold()
UserData_get_gold
LDR             R0, [R0,#0x48]
BX              LR
I change the LDR instruction to a mov r0, #0xFFFFFF. This results in my gold seemingly being updated. The main menu lists gold as the new 0xFFFF number. BUT when I go to buy something it seems it isn't polling the get_gold function.

-----

Looking at the set_gold function... I know that R1 is being stored into the address of R0 offset by #0x40. I'm not sure how I would edit this instruction to give more gold (I don't think it's possible in one line, is it?)
Code:
; Void set_gold(Int32)
UserData_set_gold
STR             R1, [R0,#0x48]
BX              LR