💬 Review Cookie Run: OvenBreak - Endless Running Platformer (General review + some thoughts about the new update)

Sbenny.com is trusted by 1,323,680 happy users since 2014.
Register

mintyenby

Lurker Lv0️⃣
Member for 2 years
Name of the app you are reviewing: Cookie Run: OvenBreak - Endless Running Platformer (General review + some thoughts about the new update)

Cookie Run: OvenBreak is a side scrolling runner and gacha game. You jump and slide to collect jellies and avoid obstacles, and you use crystals to draw different cookies and treasures.

Review:
I didn't expect it to be this long >_>, but I have a lot of thoughts about this game as I like it a lot and I've been playing for 10 months. You can check the "Would I recommend this game?" part of the review if you're curious about this game but you don't wanna read everything. Also, here's a quick summary:
It's very grindy. It's fairly free-to-play friendly, or at least as much as a free mobile game can be. The devs listen to their fanbase, but their new updates have been pushing this game more pay-to-play. Still fun. I like the character designs and stories.

The description makes it sound very simple but it's not really about running... it's about upgrading the best cookies, pets, and treasures. While Devsisters, the company who made the game, wants you to think that you can have fun with all of the different cookies, only a handful do well in each of the game modes. Many old cookies are not viable in most game modes simply because they score less... there are objectively better cookies and treasures. Personally, I like grinding (a lot, as I don't spend money on this game) to upgrade different things and come up with different combinations. That doesn't mean that I don't have criticisms though.