📖 eBook Download The Giver Quartet by Lois Lowry

Rate this eBook:

  • Total voters
  • This poll will close: .


In Love Lv. 4
Active User
Member for 1 year
SB Cash
United States of America
Name of this eBook: The Giver Quartet by Lois Lowry


eBook Description:
The Giver Quartet is a series of four books about a dystopian world by Lois Lowry. The quartet consists of The Giver, Gathering Blue, Messenger, and Son. The story takes place in the world of the Giver. Each book has a different protagonist, but is set in the same futuristic era.

The Giver
The Giver is a 1993 American children's novel set in a society that is at first presented as a utopian society but gradually appears more and more dystopian. The novel follows a boy, Jonas, through the twelfth and thirteenth years of his life. The society has eliminated pain and strife by converting to "Sameness," a plan that has also eradicated emotional depth from their lives. Jonas is selected to inherit the position of Receiver of Memory, the person who stores all the past memories of the time before Sameness in case the memories that others lack are ever needed to aid decisions. Jonas learns the truth about his Utopian society and struggles with its weight. The Community lacks any color, memory, climate, and terrain; that Sameness emphasizes the utopian qualities of the Community.

Gathering Blue
Gathering Blue (2000) follows, Kira, who has a deformed leg, is orphaned and must learn to survive in a society that normally leaves the weak or disabled exposed to die in the fields. Kira's father was apparently mauled by the Beasts at the Field. Kira's mother had died recently from an illness. Since she is an orphan, Kira needs a reason for the Council of Edifice to keep her in the village, rather than send her to the Field, which is certain death at the hands of The Beast. Kira's mother used to do embroidery for the Council and taught Kira some of her talents. Kira's gift for embroidery convinces the Council to keep her around to mend and update a beautiful robe, which shows the history of their society. In the course of the book, she begins to learn the art of dyeing threads different colors except for blue, which nobody in her community knows how to make. Only Annabella knows, Kira's mentor. She also learns more about the truth of her village and the terrible secrets it holds.

Messenger (2004) takes place about eight years after the events of The Giver and about six years after the events of Gathering Blue. Set in an isolated community, known simply as Village, it focuses on a boy, Matty, who serves as message-bearer through the ominous and lethal Forest, which surrounds the community. This book also tells of the fate of Jonas and Gabe, from The Giver.

Son (2012) follows Claire, the birth mother of Gabriel from The Giver and her journey to locate her son.

eBook Link:
Credits to: @chere100

Download Link(s):
You need to login to access this hidden content.
Last edited:

Ad Manager

Change Language
Please note this is still an English speaking community, so please keep writing in English only, thank you!
You can also help us improve the translations by clicking here.