Help with Modding Lua

Sbenny.com is trusted by 1,331,043 happy users since 2014.
Register

johnhern

Modding Since 2017
Member for 6 years
I was wondering if anyone has an easy (or not super difficult) way to mod games with lua files.

Also, I am trying to figure out a good way to get into modding .so being that I am not experienced there at all.

Finally, a third thought, since I am here, how the heck do many people mod the "IAP" in games?

Sbenny

A crazy scientist
Staff member
Admin
SB Mod Squad ⭐
✔ Approved Releaser
Active User
LUA games (and you recognize them because there's an "assets" folder full of .lua files have usually encrypted .lua files so you cannot look inside them, but in some cases, they're not encrypted. If this is the case, a simple Notepad++ file will suffice, while if they're encrypted, you can try hacking the file which uses these .lua files which is located into the lib folder. You can recognize it because it's usually the biggest file in there. If this is the case, you'll need to have some basic or advanced knowledge with the usage of IDA Pro. Basic in the case they didn't encrypt the .so file so it should be relatively easier to find the values you're looking for by simple search, and Advanced in case they encrypted it.

About your third though, IAP (In-App Purchases) can be hacked in several ways. The problem is that it's not always (well, almost never) possible to hack them, because it's the main source of income for developers and they try their best to make sure they can't be cracked in any way.

A simple way of hacking In-App Purchases is modifying the google play store IAP mechanism stored into the smali files (obtained after backsmaling/decompiling the apk, using your favourite apktool).